Looking for a business? Search Yelp.com or go to Yelp for Business Owners

Support Center

 
Yelp Support Center

How do I respond to reviews of my business?

If you have claimed your business page, you have the option of responding to reviews with a public comment or direct message to the user or you may send a quick thank you note to show your appreciation to the reviewer. If you've claimed multiple business pages on Yelp, you'll need to select the specific location from the lower left sidebar before following these steps.

Please note that we require business owners to have an approved profile photo and an approved business account user name to respond to reviews. We've found that reviewers are much more receptive to dialogue when they can attach a face to their interactions.

Instructions for:


To respond to a review via public comment

  1. Go to the Reviews section of your business account
  2. Locate the review and click Add Public Comment
  3. Enter your text and click Preview
  4. Review the text and click Post Comment
If you would like to edit or remove your comment, click on the overflow menu (three dots) to the right of the comment, and select Edit Comment or Remove Comment.
 


To respond to a review via direct message

  1. Go to the Reviews section of your business account
  2. Locate the review and click Send Direct Message
  3. Enter your text and click Send


To respond to a review from the Yelp for Business Owners app

  1. Tap Activity in the bottom navigation bar
  2. Tap Reviews
  3. Tap the review you'd like to respond to
  4. Tap the bar at the bottom of the screen that says Write a response...
  5. Write your response and tap Next
  6. Preview the response. Toggle the Make Reply Public switch to ON if you'd like it to be a public comment on the business page (OFF will be sent as a direct message to the reviewer)
  7. Tap Post
 

To thank a reviewer

If you’d like to thank a user for their 4 or 5 star review, you can send a quick thank you note by clicking or tapping the Thank button underneath the review in your Business Owner Account. This will send a direct thank you message to the user that will not be displayed publicly on the site, but will be visible to that user only.